Over 70 years of history for the Tulip Festival

What began in 1936 as a celebration of Dutch heritage in Sioux City, has led to over 70 years of tradition.

And no one knows that heritage, better than J.R. Siebersma.

"I’ve been in Orange City since 1939," said J.R. Siebersma, Tulip Festival Parade Marshall. 

Siebersma is the Parade Marshall this year for the Tulip Festival, but he didn’t earn that title overnight.

"When I was 8 years old, that’s the first festival I attended," adds Siebersma. "But I attended everyone since that, except for the two years I spent working for Uncle Sam in Korea."

Throughout his 70+ years of experience, he says things have changed tremendously.

"The festival has grown so much since that time," said Siebersma. "It was just at it’s beginning back then."

Back then, when a few men saw the idea of a Tulip Festival elsewhere in the country and wanted to bring it to their Dutch town.

"They started that, just a couple of guys, it was a very small beginning," said Siebersma. "But they had such a great turn-out that they thought, ‘well this is something we ‘ought to continue".

A tradition that is still going strong, more than 70 years later. 

See the daily schedule here



Top Stories

Sioux City
Storm Lake
Cooler weather moving into Siouxland

Cooler weather moving into Siouxland

Expect mostly sunny skies on Tuesday with highs in the mid 50s.

Click for forecast details...
Connect With KTIV
Top Stories

Early, Iowa Assistant Fire Chief remembered for community service, passion

Nehring had been with the Early Fire Department for 26 years.

Siouxland students team up against drugs

From October 23-31, Red Ribbon Week reminds students of the dangers of substance abuse, and how to get help.

STEMM Miracle Kids return to Mercy Medical Center

Thanks to the help of missionaries from STEMM, Tanzania's "Miracle Kids" Doreen, Sadhia, and Wilson, survived a fatal bus crash

DECISION 2018: Scholten talks about campaign’s grassroot effort

J.D. Scholten is challenging incumbent Steve King in Iowa's 4th District.

Scroll to top
Skip to content