Skip to Content

Gov. Reynolds issues disaster proclamation for 15 additional counties

DES MOINES, Iowa (KTIV) – A day after issuing a disaster proclamation for 21 counties impacted by flooding, Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds has issued another.

The proclamation is for 15 counties in the state. They include Adair, Bremer, Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dallas, Dickinson, Emmet, Franklin, Fremont, Guthrie, Hardin, Plymouth, and Shelby.

The proclamation would allow state resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of the weather. It also activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Programs for qualifying residents and the Disaster Case Management Program.

The Individual Assistance Grant Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level or a maximum annual income of $41,560 for a family of three.

Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food and temporary housing expenses. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery.

The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website.

Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim


Skip to content