Skip to Content

Pierce falls in C1 final; Oakland-Craig is C2 champ

LINCOLN, Nebraska (KTIV) — Trevin Luben ran for 268 yards and five touchdowns, leading Wahoo to a 38-0 win over Pierce in the Class C1 championship game on Tuesday. The Warriors cap the season at 13-0, while the Bluejays finish 12-1.

Wahoo ran for 342 yards and 62 carries. The two teams completed just seven total passes for 60 yards in windy and cold conditions at Memorial Stadium. Pierce was limited to three first downs and 94 total yards, while throwing three interceptions and losing two fumbles. Wahoo had 393 total yards and had just one turnover.

Wahoo scored ten points in the first quarter and fourteen more in the second to lead 24-0 at halftime. After a scoreless third quarter, Luben scored his final two touchdowns in the fourth quarter.

Pierce was in the championship game for the ninth time in school history. The Bluejays last title came in 2008. Pierce was in the championship game for the first time since 2010 when they lost to Norfolk Catholic.


Oakland-Craig won the Class C2 football championship with a 19-0 win over top-seeded Sutton on Tuesday. It’s Oakland-Craig’s first state title since 1995.

Oakland-Craig scored early in the first quarter when quarterback Colton Thomsen punched it in the end zone from a yard out. The Knights lead 6-0 at the half.

The Knights doubled their lead in the third quarter when Jaron Meyer scored on a 23-yard touchdown run to make it 12-0. Ian Lundquist scored the final touchdown of the game with 1:12 left in the fourth quarter.

Oakland-Craig finishes a perfect season at 13-0 while Sutton fell to 11-2.

Brad Pautsch

Skip to content