Skip to Content

Ask for COVID vaccine proof, face a $5,000 fine in Florida

COVID-19 vaccination record card

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (AP) — Florida will start issuing $5,000 fines to businesses, schools and government agencies that require people to show proof of a COVID-19 vaccination.

Republican Gov. Ron DeSantis signed a bill earlier this year that banned vaccine passports. The fines will start Sept. 16 if people are asked to show proof of a vaccine.

COVID-19 infections in Florida have skyrocketed over the summer, as the state has been one of the hardest hit areas of the U.S. from the delta variant.

KTIV's COVID-19 Resources

Author Profile Photo

Associated Press

Skip to content